The IIDA Northern California Chapter Honor Awards 2021

The IIDA Northern California Chapter Honor Awards aims to encourage new ideas and techniques in the design and furnishing of interior spaces. For our 18th annual awards, the Honor Awards program will focus on recognizing and honoring outstanding interior design completed in the Northern California Chapter. Join us as we announce who the winners are for Honors Award 2021!


The polls for the People’s Choice Award are now closed!

Registration for the 2021 IIDA Honor Awards is now closed.

Registration requests due Wednesday, March 10, 2021 11:59pm PST
Entry submissions due Wednesday, April 14, 2021 11:59pm PST

See the 2021 Honorees


Please contact



Thursday, June 17 2021


5:00PM PST


Live Stream


IIDA Northern CA Chapter


2020 was perhaps the most challenging year of our lives as members of our design community.

For all the things that did not go as planned (to say the least), what were your interactions with other people that actually were a great source of pride and accomplishment?

This one-time award is for anything your firm did to: help your community, keep your spirits up, keep the open sign on your door, absolutely anything! Creativity takes many forms in addition to what we do to create great working and living environments. So, this award is not necessarily about any interiors project you designed. It might be a food back in which you were involved. Or a clever way you kept your staff’s spirits up through the shutdown. Maybe even volunteering to help ease the loneliness that many people are experiencing right now. If it touches on anything acknowledging our common humanity, then it qualifies.

Please include any partners with whom you were involved. Also, the reactions you got from the people who benefitted from this. For this award, any accompanying pictures can be rather informal as they essentially capture the positive feeling from your endeavors.

Entries in this category can be totally separate from anything else you may enter in the Honor Awards this year.

We know that lemons are a great source of Vitamin C. Only in this case, we think that C stands for Caring.

The Lemonade Award submission is now closed!

Event Sponsor

Event Recording

Missed the event? Don’t worry, check out the recorded video below!

Event Jurors

Steve Erickson


Seattle, WA

Steve Erickson is an Architect and founding principal at SABArchitects in Seattle, Washington. He grew up in Port Angeles, and has spent three decades executing design projects in the Pacific Northwest. He believes in architecture as a fundamental expression of a city’s biography and values, a physical expression of continuity in time. He is an advocate for the revitalization of historic neighborhoods and the adaptation of buildings as a means to reduce waste and preserve their urban soul. By assaying the intrinsic architectural value of a building, a new space can be derived meeting modern standards for the incorporation of workspace, technology, and public-facing amenities which honor the history of the space.

Karin Taylor

Principal/Director of Interior Design

Fort Worth, TX

Karin Taylor is a Principal and Director of Interior Design at Quorum, an architecture and interior design firm located in Fort Worth, Texas. Karin is a graduate of Baylor University, where she received a BS in interior design.

Karin launched her career in the Dallas Fort Worth area working for an architectural firm that primarily focused on healthcare design and a small focus on entertainment design. She has worked with some well-known brands to design immersive experiences. In 2015 Karin joined Quorum, managing and leading design teams for projects within a variety of market sectors around the country. Her design teams primary focus is on corporate branded environments. Karin enjoys the design challenges and taking her clients vision to the next level.

In addition to her role at Quorum, Karin is also involved in the IIDA Texas Oklahoma Chapter and the IIDA Fort Worth City Center. When Karin is not designing or volunteering, she enjoys traveling and spending time with her husband and son.

Maya Bird-Murphy

Founder/Executive Director

Chicago Mobile Makers
Oak Park, IL

Maya Bird-Murphy is an architectural designer, educator, and maker from Oak Park, Illinois. She is also the founder and Executive Director of Chicago Mobile Makers, an award-winning nonprofit organization bringing design-focused skill-building workshops to underrepresented communities. Maya believes that architecture should not be a privilege and must expand to accommodate more people through teaching and community engagement. She loves Chicago and hopes to make her mark by making it a more equitable place to live.

Steven South

Design Director/Senior Associate

New York, NY

Steven South is a Design Director and Senior Associate at Spectorgroup in New York.

His work has been published in national press such as Interior Design Magazine, Contract Magazine, Architectural Record, and also various trade and industry publications. Recently Mr. South’s work has also been published in a few books on corporate interior design. He has won awards from the AIA, IIDA, and other organizations. Along with his interest in design excellence comes dedication to public service, resulting in leadership roles in the IIDA New York Chapter as well as participating as a guest lecturer and critic at many academic institutions. Mr. South is a past President of the IIDA NY Chapter. Mr. South is a member of the CIDA Accreditation team. He has also presented to international, national, and local audiences on topics such as technology trends, sustainable corporate design, and healthcare design trends.

Mr. South’s diverse background includes rehabilitation and interior design projects for corporate, retail, residential, educational, institutional, and historic preservation for clients such as New York Police Academy, Johns Hopkins Hospital, COFRA, Anthos, Mastercard, Haworth, MDC, Redken, and Kuwait University.

Nancy Keatinge


Felderman Keatinge + Associates
Los Angeles, CA

Nancy Keatinge has an international award-winning design Architectural/Interior Design firm, Felderman Keatinge + Associates.

In 2016, she was honored as the 37th Annual Interiors Awards’ Design Visionary, and in 2018 he received the Circle of Excellence award from IIDA for innovation. Her work has been featured in the Museum of Modern Art and the Whitney Museum. Clients include MTV Networks, Disney, Universal, Mattel, Legendary Entertainment, Creative Artists Agency, PDidddy, Samsung, Softbank, Pillsbury Winthrop LLP, Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton, and she has designed furniture for Haworth, Steelcase, Herman Miller and a Textile Line for Momentum Group.

Work has been featured in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Forbes, Fast Company, People Magazine and Interior Design Magazine.

Event Committee

President, IIDA NC
Yoko Ishihara
Partner, Wilson Ishihara

President-Elect, IIDA NC
Verda Alexander
Founder, Studio O+A

Event Chair:
Bailey Mourning Alvarado
Herman Miller

Event Chair:
Carmen Hevesi

Tom DiRenzo

Amy Thomas

Sergio Prieto
MG West

Darius Zubrickas
Herman Miller

Shelley Dunnigan

Jennifer Lawson

Katie Clifford

Nicole Egan

Christina Bane
KI Commercial Furniture

Jonathan Chow
Studio Blitz