And the winners are…

CRAFT | The Hythe – Wilson Ishihara

CRAFT | OpenText San Mateo – HOK

LONGVIEW | 237 MPD – IA Interior Architects & Londberg Design

LIVE | Three Gables – Aidlin Darling Design

SERVE | Burbank Auditorium Modernization – TLCD Architecture & Mark Cavagnero Associates

HEAL | UCSF Joan & Sanford I Weil Neuroscience Building – SmithGroup & Mark Cavagnero Associates

PLAY | Faust Winery – Aidlin Darling Design

WORK SMALL | ARTIS Ventures – Studio O+A

WORK MEDIUM | OpenText San Mateo – HOK

WORK LARGE | LinkedIn Omaha – Gensler

BEST OF SHOW | ARTIS Ventures – Studio O+A


Manasa Krishna – Oak Grove Medical Office (Academy of Art University)

Zhiyu Li – Pier 70, The Blossom Land (California College of the Arts)

Jessica Pama – Local Heart (California State University, Sacramento)

Suyang Yao & Lily Yao (team project) – Rocky River Health Center (California College of the Arts)




Please contact admin@iidanc.org



Wednesday, May 04 2022


5:00PM PST


Fox Theatre
1807 Telegraph Avenue
Oakland, CA 94612


IIDA Northern CA Chapter


The IIDA Northern California Chapter Honor Awards aims to encourage new ideas and techniques in the design and furnishing of interior spaces. For our 19th annual awards, the Honor Awards program will focus on recognizing and honoring outstanding interior design completed in the Northern California Chapter.

Join us IN PERSON at the Fox Theater in Oakland as we announce who the winners are for Honors Awards 2022!

We kick off the show and celebrate our community being together again with a live, all singing, all dancing musical tribute to the heritage of the Fox Theatre. You won’t want to miss this one.

Doors open at 5:30 and the show starts at 6:15. You definitely will want to be in your seat when the curtain goes up. Get ready to tap your troubles away!

We want to remind each guest that we are not in a COVID-free world just yet.  Please note:

  • Vaccination cards will be checked at entry
  • Masks will be suggested for all when not actively eating or drinking

Thank you to our Event Sponsors!







Thank you to our Chapter Patrons!

Event Jurors

Heather Rose-Dunning
Co-Founder, Yellow Dog Studio
Co-Founder, Scout Workshop

Heather co-founded her first firm, 20 Below Studio, in 2002. After merging with a larger firm in 2013, she and a partner chose to forgo the traditional path in 2015, founding the design firm, Yellow Dog Studio, alongside the multi-disciplinary coworking community, Scout Workshop. She is a natural “tinkerer” and loves to explore physical space and human interactions, and does so through Yellow Dog, Scout, and her newest venture – an interior garden & event space called The Annex. Her work has earned numerous awards and publications. She recently served as a juror for the 2021 AIA National Interior Architecture Awards.

Key Kawamura
Co-Founder, Studio Banana

Architects by education, creative entrepreneurs by miseducation, mavericks by definition. Best friends and professional partners Key Portilla Kawamura and Ali Ganjavian co-founded Studio Banana in 2007 and have developed a rich repertoire of entrepreneurial projects in the fields of transdisciplinary creativity, communication, design-led innovation and education. One of the core fields of activity of the company is the design of state of the art working and learning environments. Clients of Studio Banana include Nestlé, McKinsey, Ernst&Young, Johnson&Johnson or Huawei. They have been jurors and lectured widely, among other locations at Stanford, Harvard, Worktech, Tokyo Designers Week, Creative Mornings.

Clark Kellogg
Lecturer, UC Berkeley Haas School of Business

Clark teaches design thinking and innovation at UC Berkeley Haas School of Business. The core of this work is discovering customer insights, understanding customer needs, and creating novel solutions. Beyond teaching, Kellogg is a serial entrepreneur. His most recent venture is a business innovation consultancy, The Berkeley Innovation Group (big), where he is a founding partner, using human-centered design principles to solve complex problems. Trained as an architect, Kellogg has worked in architecture, graphic design, and product design. In addition, he has delivered innovation and design thinking workshops across the US and worldwide to corporations, start-ups and universities. Clark is also a practicing studio artist and creator of “365DailyArtProject.tumblr.com“.

Yeosaine Huggins
Global Design & Architecture

A creative leader in architecture and interior design, passionate about the human-centered experience. Yosa’s work spans real estate, architecture, interior design, and user engagement in North America and internationally. She has a proven track record in design strategy and leading high-performing teams to successfully develop, create, and implement creative environmental concepts as a global design director. The core of her practice is to create physical & digital immersive experiences to connect to people and purpose authentically. Yosa also teaches human-centered design at the University of Oregon School of Architecture.

Event Committee

President, IIDA NC
Verda Alexander
Founder, Studio O+A

President-Elect, IIDA NC
Yana Ronin
Founder+Chief Strategist, FORTYSEVEN LLC

Event Co-Chair:
Carmen Hevesi

Event Co-Chair:
Jonathan Chow
DLR Group

Tom DiRenzo

Bailey Mourning Alvarado
Herman Miller

Christina Bane
Fry Reglet

Victoria Serr

Shelley Dunnigan

Mindi Weichman
Studio O+A

Heather Mackin
Mackin Creative

Nicole Egan

Last Year’s Event Recording

Who won last year? Revisit the award winners from 2021

Check out the video below!