Interior Design legislation helps establish and maintain professional standards that protect the health, safety and welfare of the general public.


IIDA firmly believes that legal recognition, achieved through licensing, registration, and certification brings uniformity to the profession, defines responsibility, and encourages excellence in the Interior Design industry.

The state of California has “self-certification”, which is essentially a Title Act. It regulates and protects the use of the title “Certified Interior Designer”. This law was passed in 1990 and amended in 1991. The Interior Design Examination (IDEX) allows an individual to call themselves a certified interior designer.

Practice Acts regulate who may call themselves interior designers as well as require licensing. To become licensed, an individual must take the National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ) exam. California does not yet require interior designers to become licensed.

To see the differences between the NCIDQ and IDEX, download this chart.

Get Involved

State Board:
California Council for Interior Design Certification (CCIDC)
1605 Grand Avenue, Suite 4
San Marcos, CA 92069-2440
T: (760) 761-4734 F: (760) 761-4736

State Coalition:
Interior Design Coalition of California (IDCC)

Membership application


Design Legalese: Distinguishing fact from fiction with help from IIDA

Vice President: Nick Steele


Advocacy News

See all news…  
Scroll Up
iida nc