ChapterHonor AwardsNews

2017 Honor Award Winners Announced!

Presented at the Fox Theater in Oakland, Calif.

Posted on: March 24, 2017

Post Image

March 24, 2017 – The International Interior Design Association of Northern California (IIDA NC) has announced its 2017 Honor Award winners. Launched in 2004, the annual IIDA Northern California Honor Awards celebrates the diverse industry of Interior Design and state-of-the-art projects from across Northern California. Respected as a renowned industry award, the competition is open to designers and firms of all sizes, focuses, and areas of interests. This year, a total of 98 projects were submitted across all categories with a total of 19 award winners from firms including Rapt Studio, Huntsman Architectural Group, Gensler, IwamotoScott Architecture, EDG and more.

“The caliber of work in Northern California continues to be on the leading edge of design and delivery innovation, in creating inspiring spaces where we live, work, and play,” said Donald Cremers, President of the IIDA Northern California. “Throughout the design and contracting community, the honor awards are highly anticipated to showcase the amazing talent of our IIDA members, and to celebrate the comradery and healthy competition among our colleagues, peers, and friends. This is truly what makes IIDA a unique and meaningful organization.”

The 2017 Award categories and winners are as follows:



  • GIVE: Social Responsibility

    (Any project with an emphasis on improving the physical space’s impact on society. Sustainability, Occupant Well-being, Historic Renovation, Improved Project Process, Pro-bono)



    One project in any category chosen by the jury that exemplifies award winning design despite budgets, schedule or other extraordinary challenges or constraints.




    One project chosen by the jury to exemplify the best overall design of the entries.


Committed to encouraging education within the student design community, the event recognized design projects of students from San Jose State University including Asenath Yeung, Jihye Han, Michelle Rumawas, Manpreet Jadir, and Maryam Batouli.

The winning projects were judged for suitability to the project challenge, originality of the design solution, and the successful integration of interior forms, finishes and furnishings. The 2017 jury included Lucy Aiken-Johnson, Principal of ai3 in Atlanta, GA; Alan Barlis, Principal of Barlis Wedlick in New York, NY; Carrie Boyd, Principal/Director of Interior Design of M+A Architects in the Ohio Area; Deb Breslow, Creative Director of Meyer Design in the Greater Philadelphia Area; and Elizabeth Munich, Interior Designer of Nelson in the Greater Philadelphia Area.

Posted in: ChapterHonor AwardsNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up
iida nc